Types of reforms

The skills reforms aim to create a more accessible, transparent and efficient VET system, with a focus on quality and increased training outcomes.

There are two types of reforms:

  • national reforms that are agreed and are implemented nationally and in each jurisdictions
  • jurisdictionally flexible reforms that are agreed but implemented differently in each state/territory.

National reforms

The national reforms that the Northern Territory is required to participate in include:

  • enhancing national data collections including better measurement of total VET activity and improved timelines for data reporting
  • development and implementation of a unique student identifier for the VET sector
  • improving consumer information through release of information and data on a national My Skills website

Flexible reforms

The jurisdictionally flexible reforms, which means we can design and implement the reforms to suit our local needs and situation, are as follows:

  • implementation of criteria for access to public subsidy funding for training
  • development and piloting of independent validation of registered training organisation assessment practices with a view to informing the development of a national model
  • introduction of a student entitlement to a government subsidised training place for Territorians who don’t have a Certificate III level qualification or above
  • supporting expansion of the Commonwealth’s income contingent loan scheme for diploma and advanced diploma level qualifications
  • development and implementation of an agreed government-to-government shared information model
  • development and implementation of strategies to support public providers to operate effectively in an environment of competition and reform.

Go to the Northern Territory Government website for information on the following flexible reforms:

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 18 April 2016